Meet the RMRT Steering Committee: Kris Lathrop

Hello! My name is Kris Lathrop and I am the Archivist/Records Manager for Thorndale Farm LLC, a privately held single family office in Millbrook, New York. I have been a member of the Steering Committee since spring 2012 and am also a member of the ARMA Metro New York Chapter.

When I started at Thorndale in 2008 we were located in Chicago, IL and the company had no records or archives management program in place so I’ve built and implemented our program from scratch. My duties include electronically filing our day to day records as well as going through a backlog of documents to decide how and where they should be kept. I’m a Lone Arranger, so I also do all of the scanning, filing and box moving!

I have a B.A. in Art History from Northern Illinois University, where my concentration was early medieval material culture and I recently began the Masters of Archives and Records Administration program at San Jose State University to fill in some of the gaps of learning records management on the job.  On the personal side, I love to read, bike, do needlepoint and watch the Chicago Blackhawks *insert sad face here*. I also volunteer with Operation Paperback, an organization that sends books to our troops stationed overseas.

As a steering committee member I am on the education committee with Alexis and am the Roundtable’s ARMA Liaison. My goal as liaison is to let you know of any ARMA events or seminars that may be helpful to you, and to answer (or find the answer to) any questions you may have about ARMA. If you have any questions, or need info please feel free to contact me or post here or on the listserv… we are here to help you!

Leave a Reply

